skip to main content skip to footer

Reviews

Great food and wonderful service! Staff was attentive and we had brought a birthday cake which they
Great food and wonderful service! Staff was attentive and we had brought a birthday cake which they were happy to present with candles at the end of the meal, and then cut and plated. Can’t be more complimentary of the staff and ownership of the Bistro on Main. We had two of the specials that evening and both were terrific. We highly ... read more
RichardE via opentable.com - Nov 20, 2021
The ambiance and service was excellent at The Bistro- tables are spaced appropriately distant, and t
The ambiance and service was excellent at The Bistro- tables are spaced appropriately distant, and the value was great! We loved the homemade bread and Caesar salad. The shrimp and grits were also wonderful. I thought the salmon could have had a little more distinctive flavoring.
Debbie via opentable.com - Nov 18, 2021
So delicious 😋 ... read more
Michele Geeting via google.com - Nov 8, 2021
Better the Second Time
On our way back from Abingdon, VA to Richmond, VA, we stopped here for lunch. It was our second restaurant we visited in Lexington. Food and service were very good.
Mark C via tripadvisor.com - Nov 5, 2021
Wonderful
Great service, attractive atmosphere, wonderful food, fairly priced and personable staff. Enjoyed the gumbo and pasta dishes.
Robert H via tripadvisor.com - Nov 2, 2021
Great food and service. Will be back the next time we are in town.
Great food and service. Will be back the next time we are in town.
AmyM via opentable.com - Oct 30, 2021
"Welcome May I help you" definitely warmed things up better than "Do you have a reservation?" Lobster Bisque had excellent flavor and warmth, too. Mortye holds down the bar like a DJ handling drinks, menus, and plates.
wil blake via google.com - Oct 29, 2021
Welcome greeting, comfort food
Lobster Bisque, Salad, Spring Rolls were very tasty. Better still was the Bar service from Mortye, and the staff person that greeted us with hello rather than "do you have a reservation?" ... read more
wil b via tripadvisor.com - Oct 29, 2021
Quaint atmosphere with efficient wait staff. Limited menu but good variety and sure to please! Recom
Quaint atmosphere with efficient wait staff. Limited menu but good variety and sure to please! Recommend reservations.
MelindaR via opentable.com - Oct 26, 2021
Food was excellent. Wine was excellent and very well priced. Very quiet. I wish more restaurants wer
Food was excellent. Wine was excellent and very well priced. Very quiet. I wish more restaurants were like this. Previous we could hardly hear each other. Highly recommend Bistro. Oh, and their homemade bread was delicious. Said it was just beer, water and flour.
RussJ via opentable.com - Oct 26, 2021
Good place but overwhelmed
Wine list is priced very well. The artichoke and spring roll appetizers were delicious! My only complaint, and it's substantial, is that the food came to the table at a tepid temperature. They were busy, but that was a big turn-off. Otherwise, the food was tasty; just not hot.
minkmonica via tripadvisor.com - Oct 26, 2021
The Bistro is always a great place to eat. Delicious food and wonderful service.
The Bistro is always a great place to eat. Delicious food and wonderful service.
KathyJ via opentable.com - Oct 23, 2021
We had a very nice dinner at the Bistro with good service and congenial atmosphee.
We had a very nice dinner at the Bistro with good service and congenial atmosphee.
Kathy via opentable.com - Oct 20, 2021
Our first visit. We loved the food and the non-stuffy comfortable atmosphere. Service was attentive
Our first visit. We loved the food and the non-stuffy comfortable atmosphere. Service was attentive without hovering. The staff appear to be proud of their operation and it shows. A very nice, conversation-friendly dining room - casual but very nice.
DavidS via opentable.com - Oct 19, 2021
Cozy and friendly. Got seated right at our reservation time. Limited dinner menu but what we ordered
Cozy and friendly. Got seated right at our reservation time. Limited dinner menu but what we ordered was excellent in quantity and quality. Would recommend this delightful little gem to anyone visiting Lexington.
CTdiner51 via opentable.com - Oct 12, 2021
The bistro is my favorite place in town. The staff is so friendly and the owner is just terrific. It
The bistro is my favorite place in town. The staff is so friendly and the owner is just terrific. It was very crowded last night and I didn’t think the salmon was as good as usual but other than that it’s always a very positive experience. I highly recommend it.
Susan via opentable.com - Oct 9, 2021
The food was very good and they actually fit us I an hour earlier than our reservation. A restaurant
The food was very good and they actually fit us I an hour earlier than our reservation. A restaurant of this character however needs a larger by the glass wine menu ... read more
OpenTable Diner via opentable.com - Oct 5, 2021
Service and food was amazing! I would recommend for any occasion!
Service and food was amazing! I would recommend for any occasion!
SharraH via opentable.com - Oct 2, 2021
We were stayed in Lexington on our way from NC to PA. It was a Friday night and there were several events going on so the town was busy. We attempted to dine at a couple of trendier brew pubs but the wait was ridiculous so we wandered the town until we came across the Bistro on Main. Sometimes things happen for a reason because we h ... read more
Jack Kramer via google.com - Sep 25, 2021
Fantastic meal/experience despite overworked staff on a busy night
We were stayed in Lexington on our way from NC to PA. It was a Friday night and there were several events going on so the town was busy. We attempted to dine at a couple of trendier brew pubs but the wait was ridiculous so we wandered the town until we came across the Bistro on Main. Sometimes things happen for a reason because we ha ... read more
jakp993 via tripadvisor.com - Sep 25, 2021
Dinner was delicious, service was a bit slow. I understand that this is the era of being shorthanded
Dinner was delicious, service was a bit slow. I understand that this is the era of being shorthanded. The staff was friendly and seemed to appreciate our being there. The restaurant was full and I have heard that this is a favorite of many locals.
contefam via opentable.com - Sep 25, 2021
Since re-opening, Bistro on Main has rearranged their tables to create more space between groups. I
Since re-opening, Bistro on Main has rearranged their tables to create more space between groups. I had the special: a lovely seafood lasagna with tasty green beans on the side. The meal was delicious and it was just the right amount of food. Cheerful service.
CT90 via opentable.com - Sep 23, 2021
Loved everything about this restaurant. Food and Service were excellent. The Beer Bread is Unique an
Loved everything about this restaurant. Food and Service were excellent. The Beer Bread is Unique and the gumbo was excellent. Will return soon ... read more
AdamP via opentable.com - Sep 18, 2021
Wonderful experience overall! Great location, beautifully bright and airy dining room and bar. Delic
Wonderful experience overall! Great location, beautifully bright and airy dining room and bar. Delicious pickle soup... Yes, pickle. It was great! Steak and salmon were also excellent.
OpenTable Diner via opentable.com - Sep 10, 2021
IMO Bistro is the best value in Lexington. The food is fantastic and always very consistent. The coc
IMO Bistro is the best value in Lexington. The food is fantastic and always very consistent. The cocktails are excellent. I highly recommend. There are a few good places to eat in Lex and I think Bistro is the best overall experience.
BenC via opentable.com - Sep 10, 2021
This was my time visiting Lexington on an extended stay. Bistro on Main was an excellent choice for
This was my time visiting Lexington on an extended stay. Bistro on Main was an excellent choice for dinner. Very good food and drink. Selections were good and the bar made drinks that were wonderful.
JMike via opentable.com - Sep 9, 2021
Excellent, as always. Attentive, friendly, perfect service. Delicious food. Good, reasonably priced
Excellent, as always. Attentive, friendly, perfect service. Delicious food. Good, reasonably priced wine selection.
dakota2037 via opentable.com - Sep 9, 2021
The manager was pretty rude to us. But the food and wine were excellent ... read more
Sophia Davies via google.com - Sep 2, 2021
Food was delicious. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. Will definitely go back when passing thro
Food was delicious. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. Will definitely go back when passing through Lexington!
ElleB via opentable.com - Sep 1, 2021
the service was impeccable. the nicest nicest man was my bartender and waiter as i was dining alone.
the service was impeccable. the nicest nicest man was my bartender and waiter as i was dining alone. he was friendly and made a great martini. plus the food was amazing. definitely will go back. small quiet place. got to visit with some locals who sat at the bar and with me. don’t miss it.
cindyg via opentable.com - Aug 25, 2021
The staff were helpful when I called about accessibility issues. We were pleased with the way the ta
The staff were helpful when I called about accessibility issues. We were pleased with the way the tables were spread out and that the staff all wore masks. Our server was good and efficient. Our party of 4 ordered linguine with shrimp, the Bistro burger, the Rouladen special, and the red snapper special. The linguine and the Rouladen ... read more
HelenM via opentable.com - Aug 24, 2021
Limited & good menu options. Everything tasted great.
Limited & good menu options. Everything tasted great.
Wendy via opentable.com - Aug 20, 2021
Really liked that they’ve maintained more spacing between tables. Food was tasty and service good.
Really liked that they’ve maintained more spacing between tables. Food was tasty and service good.
yankeepohm via opentable.com - Aug 18, 2021
nice menu with choices for all palates. reasonable prices and good service
nice menu with choices for all palates. reasonable prices and good service ... read more
GallopingGourmet via opentable.com - Aug 14, 2021
PROS: Friendly & informed staff, SUBLIME food, the bartender (Morty, my apologies if I misremembered his name) is the best I've ever met, cozy yet modern atmosphere, great location. CONS: n/a.
Davis Leitner via google.com - Aug 11, 2021
Food was very good!! Service was on point! Glad we went there!
Food was very good!! Service was on point! Glad we went there!
NicholasS via opentable.com - Aug 11, 2021
The service was friendly, the food was tasty and the atmosphere with the locals at the bar made it a
The service was friendly, the food was tasty and the atmosphere with the locals at the bar made it amazing ... read more
Carmonat via tripadvisor.com - Aug 11, 2021
Great food, great service, great restaurant. So glad to return after pandemic.
Great food, great service, great restaurant. So glad to return after pandemic.
DavidC via opentable.com - Aug 10, 2021
Great dinner! Food and service was amazing! I highly recommend a visit when you are in the area!
Gabe Salinas via google.com - Jul 31, 2021
While driving home from vacation, we spontaneously chose to stop and spend a night in Lexington, VA.
While driving home from vacation, we spontaneously chose to stop and spend a night in Lexington, VA. We are glad that we did! After a quick internet search for dinner options, we made a reservation at the Bistro on Main. This restaurant is spotlessly clean, the staff was friendly and the menu was nice. We ordered the special, blacken ... read more
hvroberts via tripadvisor.com - Jul 31, 2021
The food was delicious, and they were very nice and accommodating for the 3yo in our party.
The food was delicious, and they were very nice and accommodating for the 3yo in our party.
KateG via opentable.com - Jul 30, 2021
Enjoyed our meals and a great bottle of wine at Bistro on Main. We were seated promptly, even though
Enjoyed our meals and a great bottle of wine at Bistro on Main. We were seated promptly, even though we arrived about 15 minutes before our reserved time. Plenty of attention from the waitstaff. While the food took a while to be served, it was well worth the wait and there was a delicious bread basket to enjoy. Thoroughly enjoyed thi ... read more
Leigh106 via opentable.com - Jul 28, 2021
The Salmon was wonderful! The beer bread was so yummy. Would have lived a loaf. Thanks for a relaxin
The Salmon was wonderful! The beer bread was so yummy. Would have lived a loaf. Thanks for a relaxing dinner after an 8 hour drive from Indiana.
JohnF via opentable.com - Jul 24, 2021
Lovely little spot in historic Lexington. Reasonable prices, lovely ambiance, and attentive service.
Lovely little spot in historic Lexington. Reasonable prices, lovely ambiance, and attentive service. Food was great and portions were plentiful. May go back again tonight….
KristaB via opentable.com - Jul 23, 2021
The service was superb as always. Our favorite place in town; just wish it had a patio, but the ambi
The service was superb as always. Our favorite place in town; just wish it had a patio, but the ambiance is perfect.
CristinaB via opentable.com - Jul 23, 2021
Delightful evening. Service was slow but clearly not their fault. They were working as fast as they
Delightful evening. Service was slow but clearly not their fault. They were working as fast as they could but there was only two of them. Special fish dish - rather too heavy with sauce-drowned the fish but well prepared and presented. Bread pudding for dessert was super.
dakota2037 via opentable.com - Jul 22, 2021
Excellent food and service. We are there twice because it was so good
Excellent food and service. We are there twice because it was so good ... read more
Carol via opentable.com - Jul 22, 2021
Always great food and friendly atmosphere! Morty is the best bartender!!
Always great food and friendly atmosphere! Morty is the best bartender!!
CatherineH via opentable.com - Jul 21, 2021
I visited this cute place with my twin teen daughters while touring Washington & Lee and loved it. M
I visited this cute place with my twin teen daughters while touring Washington & Lee and loved it. My daughters had the jambalaya and pesto pasta and they both cleaned their plates. The bread was to die for and the service was great. Def recommend!
wheatonfoodie via opentable.com - Jul 14, 2021
Very well managed, and even though the COVID restrictions have been lifted, I appreciated the table
Very well managed, and even though the COVID restrictions have been lifted, I appreciated the table spacing being generous. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Prices are reasonable for what you get. The food was not as good as our previous visits, but satisfactory enough that we'll plan to return. Maybe a new cook was in the ki ... read more
ThomasS via opentable.com - Jul 8, 2021
We had an excellent dinner. The soup of the day was delicious as was the french chicken breast. The
We had an excellent dinner. The soup of the day was delicious as was the french chicken breast. The vegetable spring rolls were terrific and I really enjoyed the gumbo.
LoveItaliancuisine via opentable.com - Jul 3, 2021
Amazing food !!! Best we’ve ever had .
Amazing food !!! Best we’ve ever had .
OpenTable Diner via opentable.com - Jul 3, 2021
It was my birthday and we did not have to mention it to the waitress she just overheard us talking t
It was my birthday and we did not have to mention it to the waitress she just overheard us talking to each other and brought me a delicious decant dessert. My only disappointment was they are out of calamari, which you do well!
smiley via opentable.com - Jun 30, 2021
fav Lex rest since 2006! Perfect location, terrific host.
fav Lex rest since 2006! Perfect location, terrific host.
JimM via opentable.com - Jun 30, 2021
As the title said this was our first trip here and will not be our last. From our salads through des
As the title said this was our first trip here and will not be our last. From our salads through deserts we totally enjoyed our meal. When you terrific service just a delightful experience ... read more
Golfdick via tripadvisor.com - Jun 20, 2021
This was the last stop on our post-COVID cycle around our favorite restaurants in the area. We had e
This was the last stop on our post-COVID cycle around our favorite restaurants in the area. We had enjoyed several #5 meals here each time. We had a 6:45 reservation on a Saturday night and arrived a little before and were greeted with hearty smile by the barkeep and pointed to a table in the main dining room - next to some neighbors ... read more
Hokie67 via tripadvisor.com - Jun 20, 2021
First visit since the pandemic started. Great way to begin to return to normal life.
First visit since the pandemic started. Great way to begin to return to normal life.
JoeS via opentable.com - Jun 19, 2021
It’s was the best meal ever the food was bursting with flavor and service was great the waitress was
It’s was the best meal ever the food was bursting with flavor and service was great the waitress was so nice and they have almost everything fresh but the deserts were splendid and tasty my only complaint is the desserts were pretty small ... read more
OpenTable Diner via opentable.com - Jun 19, 2021
Limited menu with no specials. Like other restaurants in the USA, cant find workers.
Limited menu with no specials. Like other restaurants in the USA, cant find workers.
BillB via opentable.com - Jun 18, 2021
Very nice restaurant, the food was wonderful. We didn't have reservations but certainly didn't mind
Very nice restaurant, the food was wonderful. We didn't have reservations but certainly didn't mind sitting at the bar and glad we did, Morty made some awesome martinis! He was the BEST! If you want a table, I would suggest calling ahead.
jansE7265BG via tripadvisor.com - Jun 16, 2021
Excellent all the way around! We enjoyed our meal immensely.
Excellent all the way around! We enjoyed our meal immensely.
JoyJ via opentable.com - Jun 16, 2021
Really nice variety of specials, and the quality of the ingredients and preparation was great!
Really nice variety of specials, and the quality of the ingredients and preparation was great!
SuzetteL via opentable.com - Jun 16, 2021
Best dinner we had in Lexington, both food and service. When the waiter tells you the desserts, and gets to bread pudding, tell him he doesn’t need to go any further.
Matt Moskal via google.com - Jun 12, 2021
Always a nice experience! Very friendly atmosphere 1
Always a nice experience! Very friendly atmosphere 1 ... read more
Rickela via opentable.com - Jun 9, 2021
Quiet, food was great. Our party of 5 each had a different dish …. All were excellent. Our service w
Quiet, food was great. Our party of 5 each had a different dish …. All were excellent. Our service was impeccable .
ShellyW via opentable.com - Jun 9, 2021
While spending the night in Lexington, I close this restaurant because of its menu. I wanted a nice
While spending the night in Lexington, I close this restaurant because of its menu. I wanted a nice dinner at a decent price and I was not disappointed. The salmon was delicious and the warm beer bread was a nice surprise. The service was good and friendly.
Z8986LHdianeb via tripadvisor.com - Jun 6, 2021
The service and food were incredible. They were very accommodating and great.
The service and food were incredible. They were very accommodating and great.
BrianS via opentable.com - Jun 5, 2021
We came upon Bistro during a road trip from Asheville to DC after checking dining options in Lexingt
We came upon Bistro during a road trip from Asheville to DC after checking dining options in Lexington and were glad we did. The food was delicious! My husband had the Unicorn fish with sauce, grits, and sauted spinach. I had the butternut squash ravioli with sage and brown butter. Both were excellent as well as the side salads - the ... read more
TheresaL via opentable.com - Jun 1, 2021
Visiting from out of town and ended up here on a Saturday evening. Brief wait at the bar for an available table but well worth it. Friendly staff and tasty eats ... read more
Matt via google.com - May 29, 2021
They are always so accommodating for any special dietary needs. Morty at the bar is awesome! Cat
They are always so accommodating for any special dietary needs. Morty at the bar is awesome! Cat ... read more
CatherineM via opentable.com - May 29, 2021
The high point is their bread. It’s the perfect combination of moist and sweet. Beer bread. Stay awa
The high point is their bread. It’s the perfect combination of moist and sweet. Beer bread. Stay away from calamari - its fried dough. Really disappointing. Salad is good. Entrees were fair. It’s clean casual and pleasant. No specific ambiance.
caroll via opentable.com - May 22, 2021
It was so nice to return to one of our favorite restaurants. I had the salmon which is paired perfec
It was so nice to return to one of our favorite restaurants. I had the salmon which is paired perfectly with creamed spinach and sweet potatoes. My husband enjoyed the shrimp and grits. It’s always fun to visit with the bartender before dinner.
LindaS via opentable.com - May 19, 2021
Great place to eat, awesome atmosphere, and had good vegetarian options. The bartender can carry on a good conversation too ... read more
Luke Henry via google.com - May 16, 2021
Made a reservation for my son and his lady for graduation and her birthday. Management and staff mad
Made a reservation for my son and his lady for graduation and her birthday. Management and staff made sure they had a great time and helped me with paying for the dinner as a surprise gift. It was a great experience and the food was outstanding! A great way to close out his VMI experience. Thanks Bistro!!
PB3DB1 via opentable.com - May 15, 2021
While there was not a kids menu listed, our server was so accommodating and listed the off menu entr
While there was not a kids menu listed, our server was so accommodating and listed the off menu entrees available for kids. She also had mashed sweet potatoes (also not on the menu) for the baby. Great staff and service. Highly recommend.
HannahC via opentable.com - May 13, 2021
As usual the Bistro on Main is the place to go for any special occasion. The people are friendly and
As usual the Bistro on Main is the place to go for any special occasion. The people are friendly and efficient and the food is to die for. But whether it is for a birthday or just a burger, it's the best restaurant choice in Southwest Virginia.
ElizabethG via opentable.com - May 4, 2021
Welcoming and friendly staff. Great amount of natural light and nice spacing of tables. My group had
Welcoming and friendly staff. Great amount of natural light and nice spacing of tables. My group had a variety of dietary preferences (vegetarian, gluten-free, aloha gal) and everyone found a meal that they enjoyed. Nice selection of wine and cocktail. Never felt rushed during our dinner.
JenniferMcC via opentable.com - Apr 30, 2021
Fabulous food as wonderful staff. They do a fine job on COVID protocols. We will definitely be back!
Fabulous food as wonderful staff. They do a fine job on COVID protocols. We will definitely be back!
KurtVG via opentable.com - Apr 29, 2021
Traveling as a single on a business trip.
Traveling as a single on a business trip.
Bill via opentable.com - Apr 22, 2021
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of restaurants on Main Street in Lexington. The food was excellent and the service great! We would recommend for anyone visiting the area!
Don DeF via google.com - Apr 21, 2021
Outstanding service from Dana and Artemis, one of my favorites, on the wine list. Great meal after a
Outstanding service from Dana and Artemis, one of my favorites, on the wine list. Great meal after a great win over the Citadel!
SteveW via opentable.com - Apr 17, 2021
Outstanding meal and service.
Outstanding meal and service.
OpenTable Diner via opentable.com - Apr 17, 2021
Wonderful meal! Nice ambiance. Celebrated a birthday. Dana was an excellent waiter. Can’t wait to go
Wonderful meal! Nice ambiance. Celebrated a birthday. Dana was an excellent waiter. Can’t wait to go back! Highly recommend.
McK8nzi8 via tripadvisor.com - Apr 17, 2021
The entire dining experience was quite nice. From the moment we entered the wait staff was attentive
The entire dining experience was quite nice. From the moment we entered the wait staff was attentive, the food was very good and the atmosphere was quite nice.
KelleyB via opentable.com - Apr 16, 2021
Want To Tell Us About Your Experience?
GoogleMyBusinessFoursquareFacebookYelpZomatoTwitterTrip AdvisorYouTubeGrouponInstagramOpen TablePinterestZagatFlickrLinkedInTumblrTheKnotWeddingWire